It’s the end of an era

This is what happens when one gains perspective over the holiday break. In breaking news thanks to our gossipy god mothers at the Telegraph

Editor finally calls it quits

AFTER what Paula Joye described as one of the hardest years of her life, the Madison editor has finally resigned from her post at ACP.

After suffering criticism over falling circulation and a personal battle with pneumonia in 2009, the move is no doubt a relief for Joye.

Speaking to Hush yesterday, she insists she harbours no bad feelings towards ACP.

“Really and truly. I am going to take some time out: I’ve got two young kids,” she said.

“I want to do some other things but the company has afforded me great opportunities over my 15 years there.”

Joye is on leave for another week and will return to the position until the end of her tenure in February.

Yes, it will be the end of an era at ACP when Joye leaves. What will the girls do? Gravitate towards Bronwyn McCahon and Alison Veness McGourty I guess.

Question is, what will Joye be doing after magazines? All bets point to a career in other media like her bestie, Mia Freedman. Will it be a career in television, starting a mummy’s blog that regurgitates content or writing a book first?

13 responses to “It’s the end of an era

  1. It’s no surprise that Joye wanted to exit, it was a question of when.

    Madison showed another decline in their readership and with the new ACP ‘zero tolerance’ policy on its editor, Joye knew it was time to get out before the axe fell on her.

    It definitely is time for Joye to get out of the Park Street bubble.

  2. When I was a year 10 work experience kid with no idea about ANYTHING I spent a week with Paula (McFadden as she was know then) at Mode Magazine. She was the NICEST person you could ever imagine. She didn’t have to be but she was absolutely LOVELY. I adore her! She’s a wonderful role model. I wish her all the best.

  3. Just FYI – this happened BEFORE the holiday break. It just took a while to surface. Jump or pushed?

  4. Noni: My guess – pushed. It’s the thing to do if you want to get rid of someone without telling them “You’re fired”.

  5. Who’s going to replace Paula Joye now? Rumour is Lizzie Renkert is the acting editor.

  6. Who’s replacing Paula Joye now?

  7. What is going on with the editor swapping at NW?

  8. 😦 I think it’s a bit sad. but I guess that’s an editor’s job right?
    great blog!
    loving the posts
    stop by some time xx
    take a peek at my giveaway while you’re at it!

  9. Hi,
    It is sad when the old has to give way to the new…I am definitely NOT referring to Paula Joye as old, but I am sure we all understand that it is when the younger people come in that the organization gets a fresh breath of life… Check out our gorgeous brand new shoe designs on http://www.facebook.com/NovoShoes. You stand to win amazing prizes as well! Thanks!

  10. I’ve been interning with Paula this week at fashion week as a backstage phtographer (as she has her own blogging website) and she is SO nice! I love her. And although she is gone from ACP she is still so well recognised and respected by everyone that runs into her. She is fabulous and so level headed, not stuck in the fashion bubble that SO many are that work in the industry.

  11. I am glad to be a visitor of this sodding web site, appreciate it for this rare info!

Leave a comment